Balancing the Chakras Through Food.

Self-love is such a crucial part of wellbeing.  In order to truly love ourselves, we need to feel at peace in our bodies, and feel connected with our thoughts and emotions.  One way to understand that connection is through the chakras.

The chakras, based in ancient Hindu teachings, are the seven energy centres in our bodies. Starting at the base of the spine and traveling up to the crown of the head, each chakra contains a certain energy. When all seven chakras are balanced, we feel at peace. When our chakras are unbalanced, however, we can feel anxiety, stagnation, stress, and sadness.

Movement, meditation, and reflection are all key to balancing our chakras. However, what we eat can also help us find that alignment.  Each chakra is represented by a colour, and eating of that corresponding colour can help create balance. What we put into our bodies have a big impact on us physically and emotionally, but also spirituality. Scroll down to learn more about the chakras, and what foods to eat when they’re feeling a bit stuck:


Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Represented by the colour red

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine.  It is there to keep us grounded and connected to the Earth, and is associated with childhood and our family. When the root chakra is unbalanced, we can feel disconnected, anxious, and unfocused.

What to Eat: Lots of fruit!  Naturally red foods are your friend--try pomegranates, strawberries, raspberries, beats, and apples. If you eat meat, incorporating more animal-based proteins in your diet can help, too. 

Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana)

Represented by the colour orange

The sacral chakra is located just below the navel.  It represents our creativity and sexuality. When the sacral chakra is unbalanced, we can feel uninspired, experience low libidio, and feel uncomfortable or unable to express our sexual desires.

What to Eat: Anything orange is a good choice, including oranges, carrots, mangoes, and squash.  You can also try any nuts or seeds, and any oils that come from them.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Represented by the colour yellow

The solar plexus chakra is located behind the navel and below the rib change.  It holds our intuition and self-esteem, and is where our “gut feeling” comes from.  When the solar plexus chakra is unbalanced, we can feel insecure and indecisive, and lack self-confidence.

What to Eat: Lighter proteins, such as lentils, are great. You can also try any other yellow foods, such as pineapple, yellow peppers, and bananas.  Oats are also a great choice!


Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Represented by the colour green

The heart chakra is located in the middle of the chest. It is associated with love and compassion.  When the heart chakra is unbalanced, we can struggle to heal emotionally and open ourselves up to others. An underactive anahata can lead to bitterness and jealousy, but an overactive anahata can lead to codependency and difficulty setting boundaries. 

What to Eat: Eat lots of veggies and leafy greens! Try kale, collards, spinach, broccoli, and brussel sprouts. 


Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Represented by the colour blue

The throat chakra is located at the front of the throat, near the voice box.  It is the communication chakra.  When unbalanced, we may feel silenced, and can struggle to speak our truth, communicate our emotions, and share our opinions.

What to Eat: Have blue fruits - try blueberries, figs, or kelp.


Third Eye Chakra (Anja)

Represented by the colour indigo

The third eye chakra is located just between the eyebrows, where the third eye is located.  It is associated with wisdom and awareness, and an understanding of things beyond the material world. When the third eye chakra is unbalanced, we can feel disconnected from our inner selves, and find ourselves preoccupied with material goods. It can also manifest as too much daydreaming, or the inability to see things for what they really are. 

What to Eat: Plums, eggplant, and purple grapes are great here.  Tea and any other light, plant-based beverages are great too.

Crown Chakra (Sadhasrara)

Represented by the colour violet

The crown chakra is located at the top of the head.  It is associated with spirituality, and connection with a higher power.  It is the energy centre of the body, and sends that energy to the other chakra.  When the crown chakra is unbalanced, we can feel stressed, fatigued, and overall out of balance.

What to Eat: To balance your crown chakra, it’s important to get back to basics: time in nature and lots of water. Light foods, such as garlic, onions, and tropical fruits can help strengthen your sadhasrara as well. 

Learning about the chakras can feel daunting, especially if you are new to yoga philosophy.  However, by focusing on these seven energy centres, we can help harvest more self-acceptance, and ultimately, more self-love, too. 

To learn more about your emotions and food, visit